Dependence On God Or What Are We All Going To Wear On This Pilgrimage?

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life,

what you will eat (or drink), or about your body, what you

will wear.  Is not life more than food and the body

more than clothing?  Look at the birds in the sky: they do not sow

or reap, they gather nothing into barns,yet your

heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not more important than they?

Can any of you by worrying add a single moment to

your life-span?  Why are you anxious about clothes?  Learn from the

way the wild flowers grow.  They do not work or spin.  But I tell

you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was clothed like one of them.

If God so clothes the grass of the field, which grows today and

is thrown in the oven tomorrow, will he not much more provide for you,

O you of little faith?

Matthew 6:25-31

I cannot begin to tell how many times this passage has come into my mind over the past couple of months.  I am not a shopper.  I am especially not a clothes shopper.  Buying clothes for me has always been a burden. I don’t like the way they look on me and I certainly don’t like spending money on them when I could buy other things like books or groceries.

An even bigger burden is buying clothes for my husband and five children.  We live in such a small town that clothes shopping comes at the price of traveling to one of the larger towns.  This price involves gas, time and often crabby children who have inherited my non-shopping gene.

To say I was worried about what we were going to wear on this pilgrimage would be an understatement!

Thank God for the internet!  I admit that I rely on on-line shopping for many of our clothing purchases.

In doing my research on Israel, I learned that what we will need for our pilgrimage is a little different than what we would need for a typical summer day here.  When entering any religious sites, men and women are required to have their knees and shoulders covered.  This means capris and longer skirts or dresses for the girls as well as little sweaters or scarves to cover tank tops.  The boys will need long pants for many of our days.  Seeing that the temperatures will be 80 degrees on up, these will have to be lighter weight.

For the younger girls, this was not a problem.  They love, love wearing skirts and dresses and don’t really care where they fall on their legs.  The teenage daughter however is feeling a little bit challenged by the clothes she will be allowed to wear.

And I haven’t even mentioned the need for a sunhat…

Anyways, my husband is planning on using the points he has collected from his Cabela’s card to purchase the clothes he and our teenage son will need.  By the way, the teenage boy isn’t too terribly happy with the clothing restrictions either…

The girls (including me) are all done.  Our suitcases are packed.  The boys haven’t even started.  I am not going to worry (too much…).

I am glad that my part in this is done.  God definitely provided, I really had no need to be worried about what we were going to wear, O me of little faith!

Leave a comment