God’s Glory in the Heavens

The heavens declare the glory of God;

the sky proclaims its builder’s craft.

Psalm 19:2

I spent some time this week going through all of our flights.  It was rather nerve wracking.  We will be on 6 airplanes total during this pilgrimage.  On the way there, we will be spending approximately 15 hours on these planes and 16 hours on them on the  way back.

This pilgrimage will involve traveling through 4 different airports in 3 different countries.  My research tells me that we will be spending some time in one of the world’s nicer airports.  My research also tells me that we will be spending some time in one of the world’s not-so-nicer airports.  The other two airports are really just very average.

The air travel portion of this pilgrimage is leaving me rather exhausted and we haven’t even left the ground yet.  Our children are accustomed to long trips by car, but they have only flown once and it was only for a few hours.  Every travel forum that I have read on air travel speaks of people who do not like to fly with children.  In fact, many people are very adamantly against wanting to fly anywhere near children.

I think our kids should be ok, but I cannot guarantee that they won’t whine or cry at some point.  In fact, I can almost guarantee that they WILL whine or cry at several points during all of this flying.  Airplanes are small and uncomfortable.  I think many adults would whine and cry if they had the option while they are flying.

I am curious, do you have any tips for me to help make the flying portion of our pilgrimage more tolerable and less painful for everyone involved, especially our fellow passengers?

God Bless!

2 thoughts on “God’s Glory in the Heavens

  1. Wow! That’s a lot of airplanes! I don’t have any tips, but I’m curious to learn of any that you come up with! We were considering taking our two little ones on a nonstop 2 hour flight and I was worried!! 🙂 It’s good that you already know there will be whining and crying. I always find that when I think of the “worst case” scenarios and how to handle them ahead of time, I stay level headed!

  2. Pack things to do is what I’ve always heard – word puzzles, color books, travel yahtzee, etc. When they tire of those – pull out the Leapsters or DS’s and they should be good for a couple of more hours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

