“Let The Children Come to Me…”

Then the children were brought to him that he might lay his hands on them and pray

The disciples rebuked them, but Jesus said, “Let the children come to me,

and do not prevent them; for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

Matthew 19:13-14

The flights are booked!  The flights are booked!  We are going to Israel!  We are going to Israel!

It finally seems real…

One of the first things I did when we made the decision to make a pilgrimage was start researching airlines.  We are not frequent fliers and so I really had no clue about booking flights.  I spent way too much time on our local airport’s website, Trip Advisor and Kayak (among other sites).  It was exciting to see who would have fare specials and when they would have them.  But then it seemed like no one was ever having fare specials to Tel Aviv!  It was both exciting and frustrating at the same time.

I turned to my family and my well-traveled neighbor for advice.  They told me their favorite airlines, which were different than the airlines I had been looking at.  More time was spent on my computer researching all of this new found information.

I turned to prayer.  And more prayer.

Tonight we have seven tickets to Israel.  As my husband and I clicked on the “Book” button, he said “Well, there’s no turning back now!”  I really think someone needs to pinch me, because I still cannot believe it is true!

I told the little girls after they had their showers and we had prayed our evening Rosary.  The teenagers aren’t home tonight, but I will let them know when they get back.

These three were pretty excited because I had made a promise to them: they could have a peek at their brand new passports as soon as the flights were booked.  The passports are a really, really big deal for these girls.  The day we went in to the courthouse to fill out the paperwork, they got all dressed up for their pictures.  They also made passports for their dollies and stuffed animals, the ones who are lucky enough to being going on pilgrimage with us.  They had waited a long time for this day.

As they looked at these official documents in awe, I said to them, “You know, not many kids your age have one of  these…”  As I was getting everyone ready for bed I heard, “You know, not many stuffed dogs your age have one of these…”  I had to smile and chuckle a little to myself.

Booking these flights have taken a lot of stress off.  I know the fact that all of the timing worked out and that we were able to stay within our budget is a fruit of the time spent in prayer.  God’s hand was all over this!  I may have done the research, but He made it work.

God Bless!

One thought on ““Let The Children Come to Me…”

Leave a Reply

