Ash Wednesday

The first definition for the word Pilgrim in the 11th Edition of Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary is: One who journeys in foreign lands: Wayfarer.  Surprisingly, the first definition of this same word in the Scholastic Children’s Dictionary is: Someone who goes on a journey to worship at a holy place.

It’s funny how before I began thinking of our own pilgrimage, I never saw or heard this word.  In fact, the only time I thought about pilgrims was Thanksgiving.  But recently, the words “pilgrim” and “pilgrimage” are everywhere around me.  In the blogs I read.  In the podcasts I listen to.  On the websites I visit.  On the radio shows I listen to.  One book on pilgrimage that I am reading has said this would happen.  It is true.  Our family is being called to pilgrimage at this particular time in our lives.  We cannot ignore this call.

Today is Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent.  Lent in and of itself can be seen as a pilgrimage.  We are on a 40 day journey of change and repentance.  In that sense we are all pilgrims.    We are all being called to this particular pilgrimage.  We cannot ignore this call.

 

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

